Shop online

Cicada by Shaun Tan

$30.00 inc. GST

“I wanted to create a picture book that, as usual, was not particularly for children (while still accessible to them). I was thinking about friends and family who have worked in places where they felt under-appreciated, including my father who had mixed experiences in his professional life, and has since happily disappeared somewhere in his garden since retirement, growing everything from olives to custard apples.”

Shaun Tan


In stock

SKU: 9780734418647 Categories: , Tags: ,


Read more of Shaun Tan’s story about the inspiration and meaning of Cicada HERE.

Cicada works hard,
unnoticed by his boss,
and bullied by his peers.

In this almost wordless picture book,
transformation comes after many long years.

I made several people read this yesterday and today.
Watched them as they read it.
I hear sounds of descending “ohs”
and see looks for reassurance.
Just keep reading, I say.
Then–“oh!” (ascending)
So worthwhile. (from a Review)

Shaun Tan grew up in Perth and graduated from the University of Western Australia with joint honours in Fine Arts and English Literature. He began drawing and painting images for science fiction and horror stories in small-press magazines as a teenager, and has since become best known for illustrated books that deal with social, political and historical subjects through surreal, dream-like imagery. His works include The Red TreeThe Lost ThingRules of Summer and the acclaimed wordless novel The Arrival. All have been widely translated throughout Europe, Asia and South America, and are enjoyed by readers of all ages.

Shaun has also worked as a theatre designer and a concept artist for the films Horton Hears a Who and Pixar’s WALL-E and in 2011, he shared an Academy Award for his work on the animated short film based on his book, The Lost Thing. In that same year, he won the Dromkeen Medal for services to children’s literature and the Astrid Lindgren prize, the world’s richest children’s literature award.

Published by Hachette Australia, 2018. Hardcover, 32 pages.